SCRUM WIN: Warwick Cowboys Footballer of the Year Craig Donn with ball.
SCRUM WIN: Warwick Cowboys Footballer of the Year Craig Donn with ball. Gerard Walsh

Guess the players judged the best in each footy code in 2019

FOOTY: It isn't yet the end of September but all footy clubs have already had their trophy nights.

Perhaps it is an indication they will all start training earlier for the next season.

In 2019, the top Warwick area teams in each club made semis and two - Warwick Cowboys (rugby league) and Warwick Wolves (football) - made grand finals.

Fullback Craig Donn won the Warwick Cowboys Footballer of the Year award.

Donn was outstanding all year and won the top player award as the Cowboys club made its fifth grand final appearance in 34 years in the Toowoomba Rugby League competition. The Cowboys went down 24-16 to Valleys in the grand final.

A-grade Player of the Year was hooker Ben Sullivan and Cody Byrne won the Max Thorley Memorial Colt of the Year award.

The Wattles Warriors finished third in the TRL A-grade competition and announced on Saturday night at Allora that half-back Matt Duggan was the Footballer of the Year.

Matt Duggan, Wattles. TRL Major Semi Final, Wattles vs Dalby. Sunday, 25th Aug, 2019.
Matt Duggan from Wattles in the TRL major semi final. Nev Madsen

Duggan's win gave him four footballer of the year awards, one less than fellow half-back Cameron Hamblin, who has five awards.

Winger Braydon Wilson was A-grade Best and Fairest and Players' Player.

Warwick was eliminated in the final in B-grade men's rugby union. Back-line star Charlie Brennand was Best and Fairest, while flanker Harry Marshall was the Player of the Year as voted by the players.

Charlie Brennand on the attack for the Warwick Water Rats team which starts its season at Risdon Oval on Saturday.
Charlie Brennand on the attack for the Warwick Water Rats team. Joe Levick

In women's rugby, Sam Burton was Player of the Year.

The Warwick Redbacks came third in the AFL Darling Downs competition, which was won by Goondiwindi.

Midfielder Tyhe Clarkson was runner-up in the Holman Medal voting for fairest and best in the league but at club level he was a clear winner of the Stephen Gray Medal for Redbacks' best and fairest.

Clarkson scored 43 points, 19 ahead of runners up Josh Read and Shane Iles.

Stephen Gray medallist Tyhe Clarkson
Stephen Gray medallist Tyhe Clarkson Gerard Walsh

After 11 rounds, Clarkson and Iles were equal first on 23 points but Clarkson finished the season with a number of three points awards.

Nathan Cooney impressed for the Redbacks and was rewarded with Rookie of the Year. Steve Grogan was the Redbacks' most consistent.

Devon Cooper was Player of the Year and Most Valuable Player for the Warwick Wolves men's football team.

Wolves star Devon Cooper
Wolves Player of the Year and MVP Devon Cooper. Contributed

He played in a season when the Wolves came second in conference grade and only lost one game for the season, the grand final 1-0 to St Albans.

Rob Davey was men's Players' Player, Nick Spence the most improved and Josh Shelley was Rookie of the Year.

See some presentation night photos online and in print.