Matt Duggan with ball in the elimination TRL semi final against Warwick.
Matt Duggan with ball in the elimination TRL semi final against Warwick. Nev Madsen

Presentation night for Warriors is on at Allora

RUGBY LEAGUE: The final curtain falls on the Wattles Rugby League Club's 2019 season on Saturday evening when the club hosts its season banquet and presentation function at the Allora Community Hall.

While the Warriors were denied premiership winner's silverware across their grades, the season is highlighted as a success by club president Amanda O'Halloran, with both the A and reserve grade teams qualifying for the TRL Centenary Year finals series.

The Railway Hotel, Allora, Wattles A-grade side won the mid-season championship, the prestigious Madsen-Rasmussen Trophy.

While lower than desired player numbers brought issues for the up-and-coming Watttles under-18 colts, they impressed across the year with a number of young players of the future debuting in higher grades.

Numerous awards, many synonymous with the club's name and awarded over many years, will be presented tonight recognising the efforts of those who turned out in green and gold throughout the Wattles' 54th season.

The Clifton Courier Player of the Year Shield is heralded as Wattles highest playing accolade, it's face adorned with the names of the club's most outstanding performers since the award was introduced back in 1975.

Among a myriad of 'green & gold' stars many names rekindle great memories from the TRL competition all the way to rugby league's highest levels.

International forward Greg Platz won the shield in 1977 & 1979, while former Newcastle Knights star and first ever point scorer Robbie Tew was a winner in 1983.

Former Brisbane Bronco Tony Duggan, who tasted great success playing in the United Kingdom, was honoured with the player of the year shield in 2000.

Local legend Cameron Hamblin can take some ownership of the award having won a record five times (1995, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2003) while former star halfback Sam Achilles has nailed a hat trick with wins in 1976, 1989 and 1990, an honour shared by current Warriors top grade hero Matt Duggan who had successes in 2013, 2014 and 2015.

To win the shield is an honour held in the heart of all Wattles players, and the Saturday night presentation will be the highlight of the Wattles club's blue ribbon event.

Who's a front runner you might ask ? The 2019 season has thrown up many contenders but we can be sure that whoever accepts the Shield will maintain the standard of the outstanding line-up who's names decorate it's face.

Wattles season 2020 Under 18, reserve grade and A grade coaches will also be announced at the gala event.

The night includes a two-course meal, entertainment and presentations at the Allora Community Hall from 5.30pm Saturday.

Inquiries through club president Amanda O'Halloran on 0407663270 or vice-president Jessica Van Der Poel on 0487519953.

Players of the Year

1975 Michael Ryan

1976 Sam Achilles

1977 Greg Platz

1978 John Bradfield/Barry Glass

1979 Greg Platz

1980 Michael Ryan

1981 Neil Ryan

1982 Rob Neville

1983 Robbie Tew

1984 Steve Dwan

1985 Brian Dunne

1986 Russell Lamb

1987 Brendan Bange

1988 Brendan Corby

1989 Sam Achilles

1990 Sam Achilles

1991 Vince Ramsay

1992 Brian Collins

1993 Ross Murray

1994 George Langton

1995 Cameron Hamblin

1996 Glen Hamblin

1997 Roger Robinson

1998 Michael Smith

1999 Cameron Hamblin

2000 Tony Duggan

2001 Cameron Hamblin

2002 Cameron Hamblin

2003 Cameron Hamblin

2004 Kevin Ruhle

2005 Jonathan Denny

2006 Damian Pauli

2007 Luke Brosnan

2008 Rod Habben

2009 Brenden Wilson

2010 Luke Baker

2011 Aaron Scheid/Luke Baker

2012 Glen McMillan

2013 Matt Duggan

2014 Matt Duggan

2015 Matt Duggan

2016 Dale Perkins

2017 Ryan Duggan

2018 Jackson Green

- Glyn Rees