Wattles halfback Matt Duggan is co-captain of the TRL All Stars for Saturday night's game.
Wattles halfback Matt Duggan is co-captain of the TRL All Stars for Saturday night's game. Braydyl Pix

Southern Downs club players in All Stars and Emus

RUGBY LEAGUE: Ten players from Wattles and Warwick clubs will play in the 4.30pm Saturday game between the South West Emus and Toowoomba Rugby League All Stars at Clive Berghofer Stadium.

This weekend's All Stars/Emus game will be the final curtain-raiser before the NRL pre season game between Brisbane Broncos and Gold Coast Titans.

If the numbers one, six, seven and nine are the spine of a rugby league team, the Southern Downs almost scoops the pool in the TRL All Stars.

Wattles fullback Jackson Green will wear the No.1 jersey, Mitch Taylor from Dalby is five-eighth, Wattles half Matt Duggan is in his regular position and co-captain while Warwick player Ben Sullivan is the starting hooker.

Sullivan is back at the Cowboys for his first season at his hometown club since he played A-grade in his under-18 year. He then went on to play Queensland Cup footy for Norths and has also played in Canada.

The TRL All Stars back row are all from Southern Downs clubs, Wattles pair Ryan Duggan and Dale Perkins and Warwick forward Mick Bloomfield.

The bench includes Wattles players Mick Pearson and Ty Gardner and Warwick inside back Dan Murphy.

Wattles has two players in the Emus side, team captain Nathan Gaulton and Jesse Miles. Both are in the pack.

Former Collegians junior Zac Stevens, who now plays for Valleys in Toowoomba, is hooker for the Emus.

Tickets for the match are available at www.toowoomba tickets.com.au or via links on the Toowoomba Rugby League Facebook page.

Saturday program

Gates open at Clive Berghofer Stadium at 11am.

Curtain raisers

Noon: Under-16 girls - Toowoomba v Caboolture

1pm: Under-18 - Western Mustangs v Ipswich Jets

2.15pm: Under-20 - Western Mustangs v Ipswich Jets

4.30pm: TRL All Stars v Indigenous Emus

6.30pm: Broncos v Titans.

TRL All Stars team

Jackson Green (Wattles)

Billy Jackwitz (Gatton)

Dylan Taylor (Dalby)

Zac Morris (Dalby)

Dylan Chown (Valleys)

Mitch Taylor (Dalby)

Matt Duggan (Wattles) (Capt.)

Jason Wardrop (Dalby) (Capt.)

Ben Sullivan (Warwick)

Xavier Manley (Dalby)

Mick Bloomfield (Warwick)

Ryan Duggan (Wattles)

Dale Perkins (Wattles)

Tom Boland (Dalby)

Mick Pearson (Wattles)

Allan Morris (Gatton)

Ty Gardner (Wattles)

Chris Wilkes (Dalby)

Daniel Marsh (Gatton)

Nathan Bowering (Valleys)

Dan Murphy (Warwick)

Captain-coach Steve Franciscus

South West Queensland Emus

Joshua Robinson (Oakey)

Denzel Burns (Valleys)

Michael Cochrane (Pittsworth)

Josh Stanton (Oakey)

Aaron Hooper (Highfields)

Corey McGrady (Valleys) (VC)

Jarred Lee (Highfields)

Luke Menhinett (Valleys)

Zac Stevens (Valleys)

Marc McGrady (Valleys)

Nathan Gaulton (Wattles) (Capt.)

Jesse Miles (Wattles)

Aaron Cherry (Oakey)

Blake Appo (Highfields)

Lachlan Berlin (Oakey)

Charlie Adams (Highfields)

Phil Waters (Gatton)

Tyson Mitchell (Highfields)

Robert Clevin (Brothers)

Tristan Passman (Souths)

Brayden Mitchell (Highfields)

Coach: Tom Clevin